iPhoneography

iPhoneography is a new and growing field. With more people owning smart phones and the camera getting better and better it was bound to spawn a new field of photography.

Both my husband and I have each won photography contests with photos we took with our phones. The people that hate this are the people who simply believe a beautiful photograph is based on an expensive camera and perhaps a masters skillful hand at photoshop.

I know people who have seen great pictures taken by me and other photographers I know and run out and buy an expensive camera and photoshop. When their pictures don’t turn out gorgeous they are stumped as to why.

What can I say, I hate hearing that the camera took the photo. I wonder how many people told Jimi Hendrix that his guitar makes great music?

But I digress….beautiful photos can be taken with anything that captures moments. I use my iPhone for most of my photos. As a working mom, it’s the one camera I have on me at all times.

You probably already know that when you shoot with the iPhone, it finds a focus point for you. If you want to change the focus point (which also changes the exposure of your picture), tap on the screen where you want to place the focus. This is perfect for when you are shooting something that has bright backlighting, or if you want to create a silhouette photo.

20120226-180344.jpg

But this next tip, one that not everyone knows, changed my iPhoneography when I discovered it:

THE SHUTTER ON AN IPHONE CLICKS WHEN YOU RELEASE THE BUTTON, NOT WHEN YOU PRESS IT.

The great thing about this is when you’re trying to capture a specific moment. You can have your camera ready and your finger already on the button. When you see the moment, lift your finger and PRESTO! You have a picture. Hopefully the one you wanted.

Give it a try.

20120226-121955.jpg

Leave a Reply

