What do I shoot with?

It’s the question everyone asks, right? What do you shoot with? Ok, not everyone asks me but in case you were wondering…

I shoot with a Nikon D40. It’s not the top of the line but I find it’s easy to use. And I like it. And those of you who think its the camera that takes the great shot, move along. My blog is not for you. It’s not what you shoot with. You could have a $3500 camera but if your eye doesn’t see it, your camera won’t either.

I have a number of lenses:

Nikon AF-S Nikkor 18-55mm F/1.3-5.6
Nikon AF Nikkor 50mm 1:1.8D
Nikon AF-S Nikkor 55-200mm F/1.4-5.6
Tamaron AF 70-300 F/4-5.6

I have a speedlight SB-600 and a flash deflector for the pop-up flash. The deflector bounces the light off of the ceiling giving it an overall even lighting.

I also do a lot of photography with my iPhone. It’s the one camera that is always with me. It’s the one camera most people have with them, so I thought I’d do a series of blog posts on iphonography. Apps, tips and tools.

There’s a whole new field of iphoneographers out there. I definitely believe I am one of them. And I also STILL believe its not what you shoot with. I have taken amazing photos with my iPhone. I even won a photography contest with a photo taken with my iPhone.

Jerry Ghionis, an AMAZING wedding photographer, just won a prize at WPPI for a wedding album he produced using nothing BUT photos taken in an iPhone.

These are all photos I took with my phone, SOOC with no editing.

20120226-114856.jpg

20120226-114904.jpg

20120226-114928.jpg

20120226-114957.jpg

Do you still think its the camera?

Leave a Reply

